Hematopoietic Stem Cell Committee

Aims and Scope

The Hematopoietic Stem Cell Committee strives to:

  • Assist in the planning of the annual meeting scientific program and the review of submitted abstracts in the hematopoietic stem cell field.
  • Review the status of the hematopoietic stem cell field and compile a list of major scientific issues that must be addressed to advance or enable emerging cell therapies.
  • Publish position papers and engage in scientific discourse as necessary to advance the field.


Selected Publications

Use of CAR-Transduced Natural Killer Cells in CD19-Positive Lymphoid Tumors ( 2020 Feb 6;382(6):545-553. doi: 10.1056/NEJMoa1910607)

Allogeneic Umbilical Cord Blood Infusion for Adults with Ischemic Stroke: Clinical Outcomes from a Phase I Safety Study ( 2018 Jul;7(7):521-529)

Effect of Autologous Cord Blood Infusion on Motor Function and Brain Connectivity in young Children with Cerebral Palsy: A Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Trial ( 2017 Dec;6(12):2071-2078)

Feasibility of Autologous Cord Blood Cells for Infants with Hypoxic-Ischemic Encephalopathy (J Pediatr. 2014 May;164:973-979)


 Committee Members:



Elizabeth J. Shpall, MD
Co-Chair (January 2017 - Present)
MD Anderson Cancer Center 
Houston, TX, United States 

Joanne Kurtzberg, MD
Co-Chair (January 2017 - Present)
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC, United States


© 2020 ISCT. All rights reserved. 
ISCT, INTERNATIONAL SOCIETY FOR CELLULAR THERAPY and the ISCT logo are registered trademarks of the International Society for Cellular Therapy.
The BEACON and lighthouse logo is a service mark of the International Society for Cellular Therapy.

ISCT Privacy Policy